EuroVA 2011




EuroVA 2011 (EuroVAST in 2010) was  held in Bergen, Norway, on May 31st, 2011.

The EuroVA 2011 program included a keynote talk from Brian Fisher as well as short paper presentations and posters.


  • 09:00-09:20 Silvia Miksch and Giuseppe Santucci

Keynote (Session chair : Silvia Miksch)


  • 10:20-10:50 Coffee break

Papers – Visual Analytics Theory (Session chair : Giuseppe Santucci)

  • 10:50-11:10 Characterizing Visual Analytics in Diagnostic Imaging
    C. Lundström and A. Persson
  • 11:10-11:30 Data Driven ColorMapping
    Martin Eisemann, Georgia Albuquerque, and Marcus Magnor
  • 11:30-11:50 Towards a Concept how the Structure of Time can Support the Visual Analytics Process
    T. Lammarsch, W. Aigner, A. Bertone, S. Miksch, and A. Rind
  • 11:50-12:10 SmartStripes – Looking under the Hood of Feature Subset Selection Methods
    T. May, J. Davey, and T. Ruppert
  • 12:10-12:30 Understanding the Role and Value of Interaction: First Steps
    W. Aigner


  • 12:30-14:00 Lunch break

Papers – Novel Visual Analytics Domains (Session chair : Thomas Ertl)

  • 14:00-14:20 Visual Comparison of Ranked Result CumulatedGains
    N. Ferro, A. Sabetta, G. Santucci, G. Tino, and F. Veltri
  • 14:20-14:40 Visual Analysis of User Behaviour in Pay-Per-Bid Auctions
    Rick Walker, Llyr ap Cenydd, Serban Pop, and Jonathan C. Roberts
  • 14:40-15:00 Visual Analysis of AdvancedManufacturing Simulations
    M. Wörner and T. Ertl
  • 15:00-15:20 A Framework for the Multi-Temporal Analysis of Land Cover Change using Visual Analytics
    C. Kinkeldey and J. Schiewe
  • 15:20-15:40 Exploring Complex Mobile Life through Lightweight Visualizations
    Tanyoung Kim, Jan Blom, and John Stasko


  • 15:40-16:10 Coffee break

Papers – Visual Analytics for Complex Data Analysis (Session chair : David Ebert)

  • 16:10-16:30 Interactive Analysis of Object Group Changes over Time
    S. Bremm, T. von Landesberger, G. Andrienko, N. Andrienko, and T. Schreck
  • 16:30-16:50 Adaptive Interactive Multi-Resolution Computational Steering for Complex Engineering Systems
    K. Matkovi´c, D. Graˇcanin, M. Jelovi´c, and Y. Cao
  • 16:50-17:10 Steerable Clustering for Visual Analysis of Ecosystems
    Zafar Ahmed, Patrick Yost, Amy McGovern, and Chris Weaver
  • 17:10-17:30 ContingencyWheel: Visual Analysis of Large Contingency Tables
    Bilal Alsallakh, Eduard Gröller, Silvia Miksch, and Martin Suntinger

Wrap-up and conclusion

  • 17:30-17:40 Silvia Miksch and Giuseppe Santucci

Poster reception

  • 17:40-18:40 Poster reception


Workshop Chairs
Silvia Miksch, Vienna University of Technology, Austria
Giuseppe Santucci, Sapienza, University of Rome, Italy

Program Committee
Wolfgang Aigner – Danube University Krems, Austria
Gennady Andrienko – Fraunhofer IAIS, Germany
Natalia Andrienko – Fraunhofer IAIS, Germany
Thomas Baudel – ILOG-IBM, France
Enrico Bertini – University of Konstanz, Germany
Alessio Bertone – Danube University Krems, Austria
Remco Chang – UNC Charlotte, USA
John Dill – Simon Fraser University, USA
Alan Dix – Lancaster University, United Kingdom
David Ebert – Purdue University, USA
Thomas Ertl – Stuttgart University, Germany
Jean-Daniel Fekete – INRIA, France
Carsten Goerg – University of Colorado Denver, USA
Diansheng Guo – University of South Carolina, USA
Helwig Hauser – University of Bergen, Norway
Petra Isenberg – INRIA, France
Dykes Jason – City University London, United Kingdom
Jimmy Johansson – Linkoping University, Sweden
Daniel Keim – University of Konstanz, Germany
Jorn Kohlhammer – Fraunhofer IGD, Germany
Robert Kosara – UNC Charlotte
Florian Mansmann – University of Konstanz, Germany
Kresimir Matkovic – VRVis, Austria
Bill Pike – Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, USA
Margit Pohl – Vienna University of Technology, Austria
Markus Rester – Vienna University of Technology, Austria
Anthony Robinson – Penn State, USA
Jos Roerdink – University of Groningen, Netherlands
Heidrun Schumann – University of Rostock, Germany
Chris Shaw – Simon Fraser University, USA
John Stasko – Georgia Tech, USA
Alexandru Telea – University of Groningen, Netherlands
Jarke Van Wijk – Fraunhofer IAIS, Germany
Matt Ward – Worcester Polytechnic Institute, USA
Chris Weaver – University of Oklahoma, USA
Kent Wittenburg – MERL, USA
Pak Wong – Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, USA
William Wright – Oculus Info, USA
Stefan Wrobel – Fraunhofer IAIS, Germany
Jing Yang – UNC Charlotte, USA